24601

 

My name is Jean Valjean

And I’m a slave of the law

19 years in prison

In the cold ice that never thaw

 

I stole a piece of bread

For my sister’s dying child

My sister’s child is dead

And there is nowhere I can hide

 

5 years for the theft

And fourteen for trying to escape

I was counted same as those

That did murder and did rape

 

My name is Jean Valjean

Still a slave of the law

I’ve spent 19 years in prison

Eating crumbs of food raw

 

Your law has made me an old man

And now you set me free

Your law I do not believe

For there are people just like me

 

This freedom that you gave me

Are branding me instead

That I was once a criminal

Your stupid papers read

 

My name is Jean Valjean

And I’m a slave of the law

Now I cannot get no work

Not even to weild a saw

 

I’m not confined to prison

But I am still a prisoner

Only mockery and cold stares

Not a penny worth of honour

 

Javert your name I’ll remember

Until the day I die

Not of fear but rather hatred

For you made my soul cry

 

My name is Jean Valjean

I’m a prisoner of the law

And I shall kill myself tonight

Just to be free from your wretched law

 

Loosely based on Victor Hugo’s novel “Les Miserables” and the musical drama film based on it, by Tom Hooper.

Leave a Reply

