Eluveitie

I wanted to check out this very elusive fusion genre called Folk Metal and was trying out a few bands like Skyclad, Ensiferum and Eluveitie. And as soon as I listened to Eluveitie, I knew I had found a sound that speaks to my heart. Eluveitie are a folk metal band from Switzerland, formed in 2002. They are known for their brilliant combination of Celtic Folk Music with the Gothenburg Melodeath sound. They have successfully placed the sounds of heavily distorted guitars and fast drums alongside the thought provoking sounds of traditional folk instruments like the Hurdy-Gurdy, Jew’s Harps, Fiddles (folk version/style of violin playing), Bagpipes (and many other types of Pipes), and many other instruments which I do not even know of. They also have great lyrics mostly dealing with the Gaulic culture, history and traditions, some of which are in the Gaulic language itself, and also a few that have been left untranslated. Sound kinda cult-ish…? That’s what adds to their awesome-ness. Also another speciality about them is the amazing duet vocal combination of frontman/harsh vocalist Chrigel Glanzman & hurdy-gurdyist/clean vocalist Anna Murphy (who has sadly, left the band recently).

I personally seem to have had a taste of Celtic music before confronting Eluveitie. I had enjoyed background scores, advertisements, and wherever else I heard this music. And also I had mildly liked The Corrs music. Then, my love for Metal is no big secret. So when I heard Eluveitie, I felt this was tailor designed especially for me. Their second album Slania (and first with Murphy), has four tracks of pure Celtic folk music, and those are to me like the cherry on the cake. I will admit that I have only listened to four of their studio albums, an EP/demo and a live album, but whatever I have listened to, I have loved ’em all.

Fav. Albums:

  • Slania (2008)
  • Evocation I – The Arcane Dominion (2009)

Fav. Songs:

  • D’Veriu Agage D’Bitu (2004- Ven EP)
  • Samon, Inis Mona, Gray Sublime Archon, Anagantios, Slania’s Song, Giamonios, Elembivos (2008- Slania)
  • Omnos (2009- Evocation I – The Arcane Dominion)

Other bands to check out:

Ensiferum, Turisas, Skyclad, The Corrs, Alestorm

I do not own the copyrights to the image used. Got it straight from google. Since I am not commercializing this article (at least not yet), I’m guessing no one will want to sue me.

Leave a Reply

